BOONE COUNTY

MEETING OF ALL COMMITTEES MINUTES

January 7th, 2025 6:00 P.M.

Justices present were Matt Odom, Glenn Redding, Heath Kirkpatrick, Bryan Snavely, Kyle Evatt, Sam Tinsley, Rodney Sullins, Shane Jones, Ralph Guynn, Bill Melbourne, and David Thompson.

The meeting of all committees was called to order at 6:00 P.M.

County Judge Hathaway started the meeting by welcoming the new Justices of the Peace for 2025-2026. Then introduced a representative from Premier Broadband Internet to speak to the committees and ask for support letters to submit for a broadband grant project in Boone County.

Judge Hathaway announced who will be on each committee for 2025.

- Budget and Finance Committee –
 Justices Redding, Thompson, Tinsley, Sullins, and Melbourne.
- II. Law Enforcement Committee –Justices Snavely, Redding, Kirkpatrick, Odom, and Melbourne.
- III. Personnel Committee –Justices Sullins, Guynn, Jones, Snavely, and Tinsley.
- IV. Roads/Bridges and Buildings/Grounds Committee Justices Tinsley, Sullins, Kirkpatrick, Evatt, and Guynn.
- V. Solid Waste Management Committee Justices Evatt, Kirkpatrick, Thompson, Odom, and Jones.

Nominations were made for chair of each committee for the 2025 year.

Justice Sullins made a motion to nominate Justice Redding to continue serving as chairperson of the Budget and Finance Committee and Justice Melbourne seconded that motion. No other nominations were made. All voted Aye.

Justice Melbourne made a motion to nominate Justice Snavely to continue serving as chairperson of the Law Enforcement Committee and Justice Tinsley seconded that motion. No other nominations were made. All voted Aye.

Justice Tinsley made a motion to nominate Justice Sullins to continue serving as chairperson of the Personnel Committee and Justice Kirkpatrick seconded that motion. No other nominations were made. All voted Aye.

Justice Kirkpatrick made a motion to nominate Justice Tinsley to serve as chairperson and Justice Evatt seconded that motion. No other nominations were made. All voted Aye.

Justice Odom made a motion to nominate Justice Evatt to serve as chairperson and Justice Thompson seconded that motion. No other nominations were made. All voted Aye.

County Judge Hathaway announced that Ron Kincade would no longer be the Boone County Attorney. The new attorney is yet to be determined and a temporary attorney will help in the meantime. Judge Hathaway and the Justices all made remarks about how Mr. Kincade will be missed and appreciate his assistance for all these years.

Judge Hathaway took a moment to let the new Justices know some of the expectations that come with the position and clarify some authority that falls on them and authority that falls on other elected officials. He also mentioned some procedural rules.

Budget and Finance Committee began at 6:13 P.M. with Justices Glenn Redding (Chair), Sam Tinsley, Rodney Sullins, Bill Melbourne, and David Thompson all in attendance.

<u>Appropriation Ordinance (No. 1):</u> An Appropriation Ordinance placing funds received from the Corps of Engineers in year 2024 in the Sheriff's Department budget. Justice Melbourne made a motion to take it to the full Quorum Court with Justice Tinsley seconding. All voted Aye. Justice Melbourne will sponsor.

<u>Appropriation Ordinance (No. 2):</u> An Appropriation Ordinance placing funds received from the Association of Arkansas Counties for reimbursement of costs associated with a workers compensation claim and placing said funds back into the Sheriff's Department budget. Justice Thompson made a motion to take it to the full Quorum Court with Justice Tinsley seconding. All voted Aye. Justice Thompson will sponsor.

Appropriation Ordinance (No. 3): An Appropriation Ordinance to establish a fund to place monies received from the Arkansas Economic Development Commission for an Arkansas Community and Economic Development Program (ACEDP) grant for renovations to the Grandmas House Children's Advocacy Center. Justice Melbourne made a motion to take it to the full Quorum Court with Justice Sullins seconding. All voted Aye. After some discussion it was decided Justice Tinsley will sponsor.

No other business was brought to the Law Enforcement Committee.

Budget and Finance Committee adjourned at 6:25 P.M.

Law Enforcement Committee began at 6:25 P.M. with Justices Bryan Snavely (Chair), Matt Odom, Glenn Redding, Heath Kirkpatrick, and Bill Melbourne all in attendance.

Chairperson Snavely updated the committees about the new security fence at the Sheriffs Department. It is about 90% complete.

No other business was brought to the Law Enforcement Committee.

The Law Enforcement Committee adjourned at 6:27 P.M.

Personnel Committee began at 6:29 P.M. with Justices Rodney Sullins (Chair), Bryan Snavely, Sam Tinsley, Shane Jones, Ralph Guynn all in attendance.

Chairperson Sullins started by mentioning the considerations of reappointment nominations to the NARMC Board of Directors. Sammie Cribbs explained the hospital bylaws regarding the board. There are seven regular board member positions and two special director board positions. One special board position being the Chief of Staff who is nominated by their peers to serve and the other being the Chair of the Clinic Executive Committee who is elected by that committee. These two reappointments are for special board positions that serve a 1-year term. It was also mentioned that these board members do not get paid to serve.

Ordinance (No. 4): An Ordinance establishing the organization, management, and rules of procedure for the affairs of the Quorum Court for 2025. Justice Sam Tinsley made a motion to take it to the full Quorum Court with Justice Snavely seconding. All voted Aye. Justice Tinsley will sponsor.

No other business was brought to the Personnel Committee.

The Personnel Committee adjourned at 6:38 P.M.

Road/Bridges/Buildings/Grounds Committee began at 6:38 P.M. Justices Sam Tinsley (Chair), Heath Kirkpatrick, Kyle Evatt, Rodney Sullins, and Ralph Guynn all in attendance.

Judge Hathaway gave an update for the Boone County Government Center construction. The sealed bids process has closed and the descoping of the bids is in motion.

No other business was brought to the Road/Bridges/Buildings/Grounds Committee.

Road/Bridges/Buildings/Grounds Committee dismissed at 6:45 P.M.

Solid Waste Committee began at 6:45 P.M. with Justices Kyle Evatt (Chair), Matt Odom, Heath Kirkpatrick, Shane Jones, and David Thompson.

No business was brought to the Solid Waste Committee.

The Solid Waste Committee dismissed at 6:51 P.M.

Motion to adjourn was made by Justice Odom, seconded by Justice Tinsley, with all voting Aye.

The Committee of All Committees adjourned at 7:00 P.M.