BOONE COUNTY

MEETING OF ALL COMMITTEES MINUTES

January 2nd, 2024 6:00 P.M.

Justices present were Heath Kirkpatrick, Sam Tinsley, Glenn Redding, Jim Harp, Rodney Sullins, Fred Woehl, Mark Methvin, Bill Melbourne, Jim Milum, Ralph Guynn, and Bryan Snavely.

Budget and Finance Committee began at 6:00 P.M. with Justices Glenn Redding, Jim Harp, Sam Tinsley, Fred Woehl, and Rodney Sullins all in attendance.

The first order of business was to nominate a chairperson for 2024. Justice Woehl made a motion to nominate Justice Redding to continue serving as chairperson and Justice Harp seconded that motion. No other nominations were made. All voted Aye.

No other business was brought to the Budget and Finance Committee.

Budget and Finance Committee adjourned at 6:01 P.M.

Law Enforcement Committee began at 6:01 P.M. with Justices Brian Snavely, Glenn Redding, Heath Kirkpatrick, Bill Melbourne, and Jim Harp all in attendance.

The first order of business was to nominate a chairperson for 2024. Justice Melbourne made a motion to nominate Justice Snavely to continue serving as chairperson and Justice Kirkpatrick seconded that motion. No other nominations were made. All voted Aye.

No other business was brought to the Law Enforcement Committee.

Law Enforcement Committee dismissed at 6:02 P.M.

Personnel Committee began at 6:02 P.M. with Justices Rodney Sullins, Ralph Guynn, Mark Methvin, Bryan Snavely, and Sam Tinsley all in attendance.

The first order of business was to nominate a chairperson for 2024. Justice Tinsley made a motion to nominate Justice Sullins to continue serving as chairperson and Justice Snavely seconded that motion. No other nominations were made. All voted Aye.

Chairperson Sullins asked the committee if they would want to discuss any portion of the personnel policy and it was ultimately decided that the handbook discussion would continue at next month's meeting.

The meeting continued with discussion of the current procedural rules for the Quorum Court meeting. These rules are set in an Ordinance that is on file in the Office of the County Clerk. Discussion was had on whether to make any adjustments or leave the procedural rules the same as year 2023.

The current procedural rules state that the public has two (2) minutes to speak on any one (1) issue which shall be restricted to subjects either under discussion by the Quorum Court or those subjects where the Quorum Court has responsibility and authority. The speaker must identify themselves and the subject they would like to discuss. If a speaker would like more time to discuss their topic, a motion must be made by a Justice for them to have additional time, followed by a second of said motion, and get approval of the whole court via voice vote.

The discussion continued with the idea of adding a limit on announcements and presentations of individuals and organizations that are placed on the agenda. As an example, if someone is on the agenda to speak, they would be given 'x' amount of time and once that time is up, a motion must be made by a Justice for them to have additional time followed by a second of said motion. This would allow for a more uniform procedure for all those who wish to address the court whether they're placed on the agenda or just adding public comments at the end of the meeting. Judge Hathaway suggested giving those on the agenda five (5) minutes to speak. Discussion ensued.

It was reiterated that to be placed on the agenda, someone must call the County Judge's Office. If the public agenda is already sent out for that month's meeting, then they will be placed on the following month's meeting agenda.

Justice Snavely made a motion to amend our procedural ordinance to state that those who are placed on the agenda to speak are given five (5) minutes to speak on their topic. If more time is requested, a motion must be made by a Justice for them to have additional time, followed by a second of said motion, and approval of the whole court. Justice Tinsley seconded the motion. All voted Aye.

Justice Snavely made a motion to take this procedural ordinance, with the above change, to the full Quorum Court. Justice Tinsley seconded the motion. The procedural ordinance will remain the same with the exception of the new rule of five (5) minutes allowed for those placed on the agenda. The public comments will remain the same at two (2) minutes. With both of these time limits to be increased if a motion and second is made by a Justice.

Personnel Committee dismissed at 7:05 P.M.

Road/Bridges/Buildings/Grounds Committee began at 7:05 P.M. with Justices Fred Woehl, Ralph Guynn, Jim Milum, Heath Kirkpatrick, and Rodney Sullins all in attendance.

The first order of business was to nominate a chairperson for 2024. Justice Milum made a motion to nominate Justice Woehl to continue serving as chairperson and Justice Guynn seconded that motion. No other nominations were made. All voted Aye.

No other business was brought to the Road/Bridges/Buildings/Grounds Committee.

Road/Bridges/Buildings/Grounds Committee dismissed at 7:06 P.M.

Solid Waste Committee began at 7:06 P.M. with Justices Mark Methvin, Fred Woehl, Bill Melbourne, Heath Kirkpatrick, and Jim Milum all in attendance.

The first order of business was to nominate a chairperson for 2024. Justice Woehl made a motion to nominate Justice Methvin to continue serving as chairperson and Justice Milum seconded that motion. No other nominations were made. All voted Aye.

No other business was brought to the Solid Waste Committee.

The Solid Waste Committee dismissed at 7:10 P.M.

Motion to adjourn was made by Justice Milum, seconded by Justice Methvin with all voting Aye.

The Committee of All Committees adjourned at 7:10 P.M.